Tags

,

It is only fitting that I write about Paris Tea produced by Harney & Sons as my first tea post.  It is one of my favorite teas, my absolute go-to tea when I’m down and need a quick pick-me-up.

Harney & Sons was found in 1983 in Salisbury, Connecticut by John Harney.  It is now based on Millerton, New York, where the factory is located along with a tasting room in downtown Millerton.  In November 2010, Harney & Sons opened a retail store and tea bar in Soho – New York City.

Paris Tea was created by Mike Harney (Son of founder, John Harney) as an homage to Paris.  According Harney & Sons website – “It is a fruity black tea with vanilla and caramel flavors, and a hint of lemony Bergamot.”

When you first open a container of Paris Tea, the scent hits you – it is unbelievably delicious smelling.  There are scents of toasty vanilla, black currants, cream and a faint citrus note.  It brews to a dark amber color, you might think that it will be too bitter but it is just right.  The taste?  There is no mistaking that this is black tea, a berry taste also comes through.  I would say, almost like strawberries and cream.  The mouthfeel is fruity and soft .  As the tea sits longer, the citrus shows, it is almost like a very faint earl grey.  Overall, I would say that this is dessert in a cup – no sugar needed.  Speaking of dessert – please stay tuned for my next post, a very good friend of mine, who happens to be a trained pastry chef, is willing to share her recipe for cake inspired by this tea!

Available in loose leaf and tea sachets at Harney & Sons.

