Tags

, , , ,

Happy Friday!  I wanted to end the week with super simple savory tea recipe – Chinese Tea Eggs!  I hadn’t eaten one of these in forever until last weekend when I went to Saint Alp’s Teahouse.  It really brought back memories of growing up, these were one of my favorite street snacks, so easily available – most 7-Elevens and Circle K’s in Hong Kong carried them, as well as local mom and pop snack shops.  Here is my favorite recipe for Chinese Tea Eggs, courtesy of Appetite for China.

Chinese Tea Eggs, Saint Alp's Teahouse

Ingredients

  • 6 medium to large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons or 2 tea bags of black tea or Pu’erh
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 4 pieces star anise
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 teaspoon cracked black peppercorn (optional)
  • 2-3 strips dried mandarin peel (optional)

Method

  • Put eggs in medium pot with enough water to cover eggs
  • Bring water to boil, after that, lower heat to simmer for 3 minutes
  • Remove eggs from heat and allow to cool a bit before handling
  • Take the back of a knife and crack eggs evenly all around (doing this well allows for maximize flavor seepage into the egg and for it a achieve a pretty marble-like effect)
  • Return eggs to pot with the rest of the ingredients
  • Bring liquid to a boil, and simmer for 1-3 hours, the longer the better, add water if the liquid level gets too low
  • Remove from heat and serve as a snack or addition to rice or noodles

My tips

  • I use ¾ cups of soy sauce and no salt as I felt I needed more liquid ingredients to cover my eggs
  • I always use Pu’erh tea as the base as I feel like it gives the eggs more depth of flavor

Enjoy!  Happy Cooking!

